IKEA, and somebody has troubles

19 07 2008

I went to IKEA today to buy new pillows. They claim to have pillows designed for each type of sleeper: there are special pillows for people who sleep on their side, people who sleep on their back, and people who sleep on their stomach. I’m a back sleeper, so I bought both types of back sleeper pillows. (The pillows are probably all the same. But now we all feel special. And that’s a good thing, I guess.)

Everything around IKEA is under construction, as usual. The city is building a road to link Leslie Street to the IKEA/Canadian Tire shopping mall. And the developers are digging out a whole new chunk of land, presumably for another superstore. With plenty of ample parking, no doubt. (I hate cars. But that’s a topic for another blog post.) Reminds me of the song “Big Science” by Laurie Anderson:

Hey Pal! How do I get to town from here?
And he said: Well just take a right where they’re going to build that new shopping mall,
Go straight past where they’re going to put in the freeway,
Take a left at what’s going to be the new sports center,
And keep going until you hit the place where they’re thinking of building that drive-in bank.
You can’t miss it.
And I said: This must be the place.

It’s too much of a cheap shot to make fun of IKEA’s product names – I’m sure our product names sound equally silly in Swedish. But I can’t help but think that a glass jar should be named something other than DROPPAR. And they had some wooden artists’ models of the human body (like they use in those back pain commercials) – the product name was GESTALTA, which seems perfect to me.

When I went to the beer store today, I passed a woman – in her thirties, I guessed – who was crying. When I left the store, a few minutes later, I saw her sitting just outside, writing on a piece of paper with a typed notice on it, and still crying. As the saying goes, “Be kind, because everybody’s fighting a battle.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

