$0.00 and sick days

20 10 2008

So I finally did it: last month, for the first time ever, I went the whole month without using my credit card. Visa sent me a bill anyway, demanding that I pay my outstanding balance of $0.00 before November 4, 2008. I assume that they don’t expect me to actually submit a payment stub – and I wouldn’t want to, since my bank would charge me a service fee for the transaction.

(I’m going to break that streak next month, as I’ve just sent some money to a friend using PayPal. It’s probably just as well: if I went two months without using my card, Visa would probably assume that I was dead or something.)

I’ve been sick since Friday – several members of my family are now sick, after we all got together over Thanksgiving. (I’m not sure which one of us was the carrier.) I’ve noticed that I worry less when I’m sick – my brain isn’t functioning as well, so I don’t have any spare mental energy to ruminate with. It’s very strange – it reminds me how moods can be affected by body chemistry over which I have very little control.

It reminds me of a time, ten years ago, when I caught a really nasty virus that took a month for me to get over. One night, about one week into the illness, when I was very sick, I was awake in the middle of the night and felt strangely, giddily euphoric. I have no idea where that came from. I’ve never felt that way since.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

