The ethics of a cold

7 02 2009

So I’ve finally come down with my first cold of the cold and flu season. This is actually an unprecedented run of good health for me – I usually get sick about three or four times every winter.

Whenever I get a cold, I tend to be more reclusive than usual – partly because I don’t really feel like socializing, but mostly because I don’t want to pass my germs on to anyone else. Whenever I’ve had to deal with anyone today, I’ve warned them in advance that I have a cold; some people are totally relaxed about this, but a woman who lives on my floor decided that it would be a good idea to wait for the next elevator rather than be confined in an enclosed space with me. Which I was totally okay with; I’d do the same thing if she had the cold and I was healthy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

