Recession laundry

17 02 2009

I went down to do my laundry today, and discovered that the price of a wash has gone up, from $1.85 to $2.00. Fair enough, I suppose – it hadn’t gone up in a while. But the length of a wash was also reduced, for the first time I can recall: the wash cycle has been reduced from 37 minutes to 33 minutes.

I guess it’s one of the sacrifices we have to make because of the recession: everybody’s clothes are going to be 10% less clean.

Oddly enough, the cost of drying clothes hasn’t gone up – it’s still $1.50. Demand for dryers is more elastic, I suppose – if they raise dryer prices too much, everybody will just hang their laundry up to dry in their apartments.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

