The blissful sound of automobile traffic

9 03 2009

Last week, we had our first non-wintry day of 2009. There was actual sunshine outside, and it was warm enough to wear a sweatshirt without a winter coat. (One of the wonderful things about being Canadian is that we’re easy to please, weather-wise: a little sunshine and 9C temperatures in March, and we’re blissfully happy. If it hits double figures, it’s Patio Time.) It was so warm that I was able to open my balcony door and let in some fresh air and listen to the sound of nearby freeway traffic. Both of which I love.

I have spent a lot of my life with the sound of car traffic on the Don Valley Parkway as background noise. For the last eight years, I have lived in a high-rise building right next to the Parkway, and I grew up near the intersection of Lawrence Avenue and the Parkway. I don’t like living in quiet neighbourhoods; the silence is too disturbing.  (Besides, if you don’t hear traffic, you hear birds, which start chirping at dawn. Dawn is too early.)

When I was a kid, we didn’t have air-conditioning, so I would keep my window open on hot summer nights. I would drift off to sleep to the sound of car engines performing efficiently at highway speed – the internal combustion engine as lullaby. To this day, I sleep well in motels, as they’re usually near the freeway.

On an unrelated topic: I got an email today with the following subject header:

Dave – It’s time for Emotional Spring Cleaning!

I guess, with the Coming Of Spring, I’m supposed to throw out all those unpleasant negative emotions and replace them with cheerful new emotions. Me, I prefer to recycle my emotions: it’s more environment-friendly.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

