Environment

29 03 2009

Some environment-related ramblings, triggered by yesterday’s Earth Hour: I was moving stuff around in my apartment today, and I realized that I own a lot of things. I don’t buy as many things as I used to, but I own five and a half IKEA shelves’ worth of books, two computers, a guitar, a TV, a VCR, a DVD player, a portable radio, a bicycle… and on and on and on. That’s a lot of stuff – and I’m only one person. Multiply that by the millions and millions of people in the developed world who all buy stuff and, well… that’s a lot.

And I realized today that March has been very benevolent this year. It was last year too, as I recall: virtually no snow, several nice spring-like days, and so on. I seem to recall that spring used to arrive later.

Of course, the actual winter months have been a bit more wintry. There’s been lots and lots of snow. I guess it’s as the experts are saying: climate change doesn’t just mean global warming. We may very well be changing the weather patterns around the world. I don’t know what’s going to happen as a result of that; it’s like rolling the dice, I suppose.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

