Random acts of kindness

27 07 2009

I saw two things on the streetcar today that made me feel better about humanity.

The first was on the King car near Broadview and Queen. A man spilled groceries out of his grocery bag as he got up to get out at his stop. The people around him immediately started helping him gather his stuff. There must have been four or five people helping him pack his groceries back into the bag.

The second happened to me on the Queen car as I was heading to the Beach district. Some change – about $4 of it – had slipped out of my side pocket while I was sitting on the streetcar, and it was on the seat when I got up. A man sitting nearby got my attention and pointed out the missing change.

I love living in Toronto.

By the way: if you’re looking for a heartwarming book, I recommend Playing the Enemy by John Carlin. It tells the story of how black and white South Africa united to root for their country’s team in the 1995 Rugby World Cup. There are parts of this book that I have read over and over.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

