Tornado warning

20 08 2009

So we had a tornado warning in Toronto tonight. The radio advised people to seek shelter in their basement, or in a central room of their house, or in the bathtub. I live in a high-rise, so I wasn’t sure whether to go to the basement or not. I decided better safe than sorry, so I took the stairs down to the garage level. I was the only person who did.

After a few minutes down there, I figured that if a tornado hit my building, I’d be fucked anyway. And I couldn’t get radio reception from there even if I had remembered to bring a radio, so I had no idea what was happening. So I went back up to my unit. The worst of it passed over while I was gone – including, apparently, a funnel cloud that passed over the city. That’s never happened in my lifetime, as far as I know. I’m happy enough to have missed it.

By the time I got back, the rain was coming down rather impressively. After about 15 minutes, the sky turned a weird shade of yellow, and I could see a spectacular rainbow south of me. As I type this now, the sky to the west of me is a range of coloured clouds like out of a naturalistic painting. The sky to the south and east of me still looks seriously unpleasant, the power is out in Whitby, and there are reports of damage in Vaughan.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

