Stories from the big city, #207

26 09 2009

I was at the corner of Broadview and Danforth at lunchtime today, as I was out buying various supplies to help me get through this cold that I have. I was waiting at the corner for the light to change as a streetcar was about to head south on Broadview. Then, a man rushed up to try to catch the streetcar. The driver didn’t notice him gesturing wildly to open the door, and started to pull out. Frustrated, the man pounded, hard, on the door.

The streetcar stopped, and the driver started ringing the streetcar bell loudly. This caught the attention of a nearby police car – probably coming from the speed trap at the City Adult Learning Centre just west of the intersection. The police officer got out, and listened to the streetcar driver describe what happened. The officer then took the disgruntled passenger off for an interview, and the streetcar left.

When I came back, the police car was gone, and the wannabe passenger was having a conversation with three of the people hanging out outside the co-op housing building at Broadview and Danforth. I couldn’t hear what he was saying, but I would guess that he was complaining about how unfair all of this was. I went back home and went to sleep as I continued to recover from my cold.

Colds are strange things; while you have one, you don’t really realize how much energy they take from you, as the feeling of tiredness and unhealthiness becomes the new normal. Only when you start to get better do you realize: oh, that’s what healthy feels like – I’d forgotten.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

