Time to consult the backup brain

13 01 2010

Extremely belated Happy New Year. It’s 2010 already. Holy [interjection not suitable for family viewing]. It doesn’t seem that long ago that it was 2000. These numbers are getting large and scary.

(I remember where I was on New Year’s Eve 1999: I wound up at a party where there was nobody that I knew. On New Year’s Eve 2000, I was living near Victoria Park and Queen, and I went down to the lakefront to watch the new year come in, as I didn’t have any other plans. I liked the latter New Year’s better.)

I had a surreal moment at work today. I was working on a Perl program to generate templates for HTML documentation. It has been a while since I did any coding, so I had forgotten a lot of the Perl I once knew. I had to keep looking stuff up in the nearest reference book – which was a book I wrote back in 1994-95. It was like having access to an old copy of my brain.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

