I may be controlling the weather

22 05 2010

So I’ve gone out three times today.

The first time was this morning: the weather forecast called for a chance of showers in the morning and showers in the afternoon, so I thought I would go for a bicycle ride before the rain came in. I rode up the Don path system as far as Wilket Creek Park, and everything seemed fine at first – in fact, the sun peeked out for a bit, so I stopped and put on sunscreen. This obviously angered the weather gods, as it started to rain at almost exactly the point at which I was farthest from my home. Bicycling down Laird Drive in the pouring rain was a character-building experience. And the rain pretty much let up when I got home.

The second time was when I went to get lunch. I looked out the window, everything seemed dry, and the clouds didn’t look too threatening. So I didn’t take my umbrella with me. Naturally, it started to rain again. Thankfully, I got home before it rained too heavily.

The third time I went out, I took my umbrella with me. Naturally, it didn’t rain.

I’m going out again tonight, to an outdoor party. I’d better take my umbrella, or I will ruin it for everyone.

The Song Of The Day is “Keep On The Sunny Side Of Life” by the Carter Family. This is from the Volume 1 collection, consisting of recordings from between 1927 and 1934. I’m not really a huge fan of country music, except for the old stuff like this: it’s like The Grapes Of Wrath set to music.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

