Now we’re cooking (metaphorically speaking)

26 05 2010

Okay, now I am beginning to understand why they raised a heat alert – the humidex today got up to 38C, which is record-setting for this time of year.

I like warm weather more than most people do – I grew up in Toronto, so I am used to summer humidity. Provided I can get a fan on my face and am out of the direct sunlight, everything’s cool. I did have to adapt to walking in warm weather again, since it’s been a while: you get into the habit of moving more slowly and deliberately, only expending energy when you have to.

The online version of Maclean’s had an article today mentioning that bottled water actually contains more bacteria than tap water. The only point that the article didn’t mention was that people who live in high rises also need to know that their building’s pipes are safe, not just the city’s; when I lived in Waterloo, my kitchen taps spit out brownish-black water every morning that looked a lot like engine oil. Fortunately, my building is good about repairing and maintaining things, so I drink filtered tap water at home. It tastes good. I am going to have some more right now.

The Song Of The Day is “Sloop John B” by the Beach Boys. A great warm weather song.

Actions

Information

One response

27 05 2010
Rob

when I lived in Waterloo, my kitchen taps spit out brownish-black water every morning that looked a lot like engine oil

And tasted like being poor and small.

Thanks for reminding me about Waterloo tap water, Dave…

Leave a Reply

