Don’t walk by a red dress

30 05 2010

As I type this, I am listening to an Internet radio station based in France that is playing reggae. That’s kind of cool.

Another thing that’s cool: Canada Trust is featuring a gay couple in some of its banking ads. I think that’s the first time I’ve ever seen that.

A billboard on Dundas Street, near the Eaton Centre, was having display problems today:

That’s the first time I’ve ever seen the Blue Screen Of Death on a billboard.

I was skimming Joe Posnanski’s book about baseball legend Buck O’Neil today, and found this in the afterword:

My wife and I bought a piano at a sale held in a college chapel on October 6, 2006. It was black and so shiny you could see your face in the wood. I cannot say the purchase was inspired entirely by Buck O’Neil. But I can say I heard his voice in my mind when I hit the keys with one finger and listened to the tones.

“Son,” Buck had said in New York, “in this life, you never walk by a red dress.”

I think Buck meant that we should never pass up the opportunity to live life. We should not rush by the red dresses, the baseball games, the street musicians, or the sweet smell of dessert. We should not stifle or smother our craziest dreams.

Actions

Information

One response

7 06 2010
Rob

The Soul of Baseball is a wonderful book, and you really should read the whole thing. (If it’s not easily available, I could lend it to you – e-mail me if interested.) Buck O’Neil is basically the greatest anything ever.

Leave a Reply

