Sometimes, it’s the little things

15 06 2010

Today, I was trying to decide whether I would go bicycling or buy new shoes after work, then it occurred to me: if I told the shoe people not to bother giving me the box that the shoes come in, I could put them in my knapsack and bicycle there and back. So I did.

A couple of small good things happened on the trip:

  • I discovered that the bicycle lane on the Bloor-Danforth bridge has been widened. It feels almost luxurious to travel in it. And it’s wide enough to allow one cyclist to pass another. They’ve even tried to put in lane guidelines for that tricky part where the cyclist has to cut left across one lane of traffic to make room for the ramp from Danforth Avenue to the Don Valley Parkway.
  • When I got to the shoe store (New Balance, on Yonge north of St. Clair – I always go there because they have EE width shoes), they originally thought they were out of the model I was looking for. But they searched their computer, which has a record of all the shoes they have in their stores, and it said that they had one pair. It had been stored in the wrong place. I bought it.

Sometimes, it’s the little things that keep you going.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

