Horror

8 08 2010

I’ve been reading Erik Larson’s The Devil In The White City, which tells two stories: how the Chicago World’s Fair was built, and the exploits of H. H. Holmes, a serial killer who was at work at that time. Holmes killed at least nine people without remorse or even much thought. His description of how he killed the daughters of an associate of his is breathtakingly horrible:

…he placed the girls in a large trunk and made an opening in its top. “Here I left them until I could return and at my leisure kill them. At 5 p.m. I borrowed a spade of a neighbor and at the same time called on Mrs. Pitezel [the girls’ mother] at her hotel. I then returned to my hotel and ate my dinner, and at 7 p.m. I again returned to the house where the children were imprisoned, and ended their lives by connecting the gas with the trunk…”

By the way, the girls were killed during a trip to Toronto. The book lists the street address – 15 St. Vincent Street – but this street does not exist any more, as it has been absorbed into Bay Street.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

