YouTube chain surfing, part 2

1 11 2010

I had fun with YouTube chain surfing, so I tried it again last night. I started with this video of the Ditty Bops and Jesca Hoop singing “(I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My) Sister Kate”, mostly because that is one of the coolest song titles ever:

(Fascinating fact of the day: Jesca Hoop was once Tom Waits’ children’s nanny.)

From there, it was a few clicks before I got to Ladytron’s “Runaway”, which is another cool song:

Here are some other links I found along the way:

This time, I ended up with Charlie Parker performing “Summertime”, and it’s always good to stop with the Bird:

For some reason, I’ve always liked the chorus of this song (the lyrics are apparently by George Gershwin – I didn’t know this until I looked it up just now):

Summertime,
And the livin’ is easy
Fish are jumpin’
And the cotton is high

Oh, your daddy’s rich
And your mamma’s good lookin’
So hush little baby
Don’t you cry

Maybe it’s just because of the way I’ve heard this sung, but this always sounded so sad to me. Oddly enough, the first place I heard these lyrics was in Iggy Pop’s “Girls” (with “fish” helpfully replaced by “girls”):

According to the All Music Guide, Gershwin isn’t given a writing credit on “Girls” – perhaps whoever controls his copyright didn’t want one, or didn’t know about it, or maybe it’s a small enough excerpt to qualify as fair use.

And no mention of Iggy Pop – possibly the coolest man alive – could be complete without this story of when he was being interviewed by Edge 102 or whatever they call themselves now (I still miss the old CFNY). When asked what he thought of Courtney Love, the Igster paused for exactly the right amount of time before responding, “I’d fuck her.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

