Ouch, the movie

15 12 2010

I’ve been working at home for three days, as I pulled a muscle in my back while dusting, then aggravated it when I got up off my futon on Sunday. It’s not a really serious injury, but sitting down aggravates it – which is a bit of a hassle when I sit down for a living. I am typing this on my laptop while lying in bed.

The tricky thing about injuries such as this is that it is impossible to know at first whether it’s going to take days, weeks or months to recover. Back in 2006, I hurt my hip; I think I tore something while playing road hockey, which took a few days to appear, but I am not sure. When the injury first happened, it didn’t seem to be too bad, so I tried to walk it off. The next day, I couldn’t bend at all (which made putting socks and shoes on an ordeal of the “I’ll tell you where the microfilm is, now make the pain stop” variety). It took about three months to recover. This injury, on the other hand, seems to be mostly better after only three days – I’ll try sitting at my office chair tomorrow to confirm this. (Mind you, now my stomach is bothering me. In the immortal words of Roseanne Roseannadanna, if it isn’t one thing, it’s another.)

The other day, I posted a link to unusual pop songs by Dutch recording artists. I forgot this one, “How Do You Do” by Mouth and MacNeal, which sold a million copies in the United States in 1972:

They really don’t make songs like this any more.

Wikipedia informs me that Mouth (whose real name was Willem Duyn) is dead now – he passed away in 2004.

I promise – no more 1970s pop hits for a while!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

