Gosh, thanks

24 01 2011

I got a letter in the mail today (snail mail, not email) from Cancer Care Ontario containing the following cheerful information (bold face theirs; italics mine):

When men and women reach 50 years of age, the risk of colorectal cancer rises. Please talk to your family doctor or nurse practitioner about colorectal cancer screening. Ask about using a Fecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT) to screen for colorectal cancer. If your father, mother, brother, sister or child had colorectal cancer, your risk of getting colorectal cancer is higher, and it is more important that you ask about colorectal cancer screening.

My date of birth is in a database somewhere, and this is the first January since I turned 50, so presumably that’s why I got the letter. I’ll have to talk to other friends my age to see if they got the letter too.

I wonder if I’ll get other letters reminding me of all the unpleasant things that can happen to me now that I have reached this statistical landmark. I can hardly wait!

I don’t know about you, but I’d like to change the subject right about now. So here’s the Flying Pickets, with their cover of “Only You” (check out the sideburns on lead singer Brian Hibbard!):

This song was number one on the British charts late in 1983. The group were known for their left-wing politics; the last original member left in 1990. Another group of singers are still touring under that name.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

