Hmph, Firefox for Windows 7

28 06 2011

I finally got my new website in good enough shape to upload it (it’s www.davetill.com for the business stuff, and www.davetill.com/index2.html for personal). I’ve done enough website design to know that the hard part is making sure it works on all common browsers. On my main computer, which runs Windows Vista, it worked fine on Google Chrome, Firefox and IE 7. (The latter required much wailing and gnashing of teeth.) I don’t have a Mac, so I can’t try it on Safari or any other Mac browser, but I figured I would be in reasonable shape in the Windows world, right? Wrong.

After uploading my site, I discovered that Firefox for Windows 7 rendered the Verdana font in the main menu on my business site differently from other browsers – it took up more space. I fixed that, but the menu is still positioned one pixel lower than it should be. Hmph, I say – especially since the Windows 7 versions of Google Chrome and IE work just fine. I guess I have a little more work to do.

Say what you like about The Cranberries, but “Zombie” is still a powerful song, even after all these years:

The Cranberries were so successful that, at one time, lead singer Dolores O’Riordan was one of the ten richest women in Ireland. (And one source I recall reading claimed that she was the richest.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

