Forty dollars

30 10 2011

A while back, I found forty dollars lying in the street. I was walking on Danforth Avenue, east of Broadview, and I happened to look down and notice a folded piece of paper. The “folded piece of paper” turned out to be a folded 20 dollar bill – and there was another one inside it. There was nobody around who was looking for the money, so there was no one I could give it back to. But I felt guilty that I didn’t immediately give the money to a nearby homeless person, so I took it home and put it on my dresser drawer and left it there for a bit. I wasn’t working at the time, and I thought – maybe I will eventually need the money.

I started working at my new job two weeks ago, and I finally figured out what to do with the $40 – I made an on-line donation for that amount to Second Harvest, which is a Toronto-based charity that distributes surplus food (food that was about to be thrown out) to hungry people. It seemed like a good enough cause.

Totally unrelated stuff, while I’m here:

  • Climate change deniers, take note: it’s now nearly the end of October. I seem to recall that, when I was younger, the leaves had all fallen from the trees by now. Today, as I look out my window, some of the trees haven’t even completely changed colour yet. It reminds me of ecologist Bill McKibben’s assertion: climate change has already happened; it’s too late to go back to the way things were.
  • I know virtually nothing about the world economic system, but I can’t help but think that the world is on the horns of a dilemma. The world economy appears to be slowly grinding to a halt because people can’t afford to buy stuff any more. But if people started buying stuff again, the planet wouldn’t be able to sustain the collective human level of consumption. Is it even possible to have a prosperous and sustainable economy?
  • I was in the Eaton Centre on Saturday, looking to buy jeans and maybe a shirt. I noticed that, according to the store directory, there were four men’s clothing stores (two of which also offered clothes for women), and 20 women’s clothing stores. I know that women like to shop for clothes more than men do, but we men need to wear as many clothes as women do, don’t we? I don’t completely get it.
  • After reading about the whole Rob Ford versus Mary Walsh thing – especially in this excellent Ivor Tossell article – I find that the most troubling thing is that either the mayor of Toronto is lying, or somebody at the CBC is lying. Neither of these is a good thing.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

