I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride it where I like

15 04 2012

On an impulse, I decided to register for the Ride For Heart event on June 3rd. In this event, riders travel 25 km, 50 km or 75 km along the Gardiner Expressway and the Don Valley Parkway. It’s to raise money for the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

I decided to go for 50 km, since I wanted to stretch myself – there is a 25 km option, but I could do 20 km or so before I signed up, so it wasn’t enough of a challenge. Signing up for 50 km means that, for the first time in my life, I’m actually training for something. I need to gradually build up to 50 – so far, I’ve done 21 km, 24.1 km, and (today, in the rain) 27.2 km. The latter is the farthest I’ve ever ridden in one day in my life.

So far, so good – I haven’t ruptured, pulled, strained, sprained, injured or otherwise adversely affected anything major. I have learned a few things about cycling longer distances, though:

  • Not to go too fast. I have a little bicycle computer that keeps track of how fast I am going and how far I have travelled. I have learned that a rate of about 18 to 19 km per hour works best for me – I can maintain that pace without wearing myself out too much.
  • The halfway point is the worst. The last couple of times I went out, I started getting a little fatigued at about the 11 or 12 km mark. Which was gloom-inducing, as I wasn’t even halfway yet.
  • It gets easier after a while. Both of the last two times, I went through a wall at about 15 km. After that, I turned into a cycling machine of sorts – I wasn’t thinking, I was just doing.
  • Rain is only annoying up to a point. After I’ve gotten wet and miserable, there’s nothing left to lose – I can’t get any more wet and miserable than I already am. So the weather holds no power over me. As long as I remember to wipe down my bike frame and oil the chain afterwards, I’m fine. Though the hot shower today was wonderful.

I’m hoping that I will be able to continue to do this, and will actually be able to ride on the day. (There’s no guarantees – I’m old enough that I might rupture something at any time, without notice.)

If you’re reading this and want to sponsor me, you can go here.

Actions

Information

One response

15 04 2012
Suzi Smart

Dave – go for it… I don’t have the cash to sponsor you today but send me a reminder next month please?

Leave a Reply

