Late 1980s driving music!

23 08 2012

Back in the late 1980s, I lived in Waterloo and I owned a car. On weekends, I would sometimes drive to Toronto to buy books, see movies, and just visit the big city. I kept a cassette tape of music to drive to in the car – I remember three songs that were on it.

The first is “Downstream” by The Rainmakers:

The Rainmakers have apparently re-formed – minus their original lead guitarist – and are playing gigs in their native Midwest and in Norway, where they are very popular. Stephen King was a huge fan of theirs at one time, which is not a bad endorsement to pick up.

And there’s “Walking On Sunshine” by Katrina and the Waves:

I found out much later that K and the W wrote and recorded the original version of “Going Down To Liverpool”, which was later covered by The Bangles. Both versions are awesome (and the Bangles video features Leonard Nimoy as the driver!).

Last but not least is Iggy Pop’s “Pumping For Jill”. The lyrics are rather silly, but I love the rhythm guitar in this song.

After listening to these, I can almost see the younger version of me driving westbound on the 401.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

