Bad tenant! No donut!

25 01 2013

Apparently, there was a flood in one of the apartments in either my building or the building next door because an air-conditioning unit had not been uninstalled and the heating pipes had frozen over. I found this out when I got a notice from building management, including the following paragraph in capitals, bold face, and a larger point size than normal:

ANY TENANT WHO INSTALLS AIRCONDITIONING UNITS IN YOUR APARTMENT WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REMOVING and/or UNINSTALLING SAME PROPERLY. THIS IS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO PROTECT THE HEATING PIPES AND AVOID FREEZING WHICH WILL CAUSE A FLOOD IN THE UNIT AND WORSE YET AFFECT OTHER UNITS AND COMMON AREAS. NOTE THAT IF THIS IS NOT DONE, WE WILL HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO HOLD YOU RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COSTS INCURRED OF THE REPAIRS BROUGHT ABOUT BY THE NEGLIGENCE ON YOUR PART.

I see the building management’s point, but I am wondering: where do people learn that particular Angry Writing style? I had nothing to do with this problem – I’ve never had air conditioning in my apartment – but my first reaction when reading this was to feel vaguely guilty and to apologize profusely to somebody.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

