Volcanoes and the homeless

17 04 2010

I admit it – I’m a worrier by temperament. Today’s Thing I Am Worrying About is the volcano in Iceland – if it continues to erupt for any length of time, how will this affect the world’s weather patterns? I recall one year when a volcano erupted, and the resulting ash eruption pretty much eliminated summer that year – we didn’t have any warm weather at all. I guess as long as the world’s food supply is not disrupted, we’ll be okay – and, hey, it could offset the effects of man-made climate change.

Went to the Royal Bank branch near where I live to deposit a cheque, and noticed that its ATM machines are no longer accessible between 11 pm and 7 am. Presumably, this was because homeless people were sleeping there. There’s also a homeless person who regularly sleeps in the entranceway to the Palmerston branch of the Toronto public library – several times, I’ve gone to drop off books in their book drop on my way to work while he was still asleep. I try to be as quiet as possible, as I do not want to wake him up.

Totally unrelated to anything – Rule #38 of life: people who install extra fog headlights on the front of their cars always drive way too fast.

Today’s Song Of The Day is “Forever Now” by the Psychedelic Furs. Let it stay forever now, indeed.